Home > Computing, Education, Internet > Everything you need to know in just 3mins

Everything you need to know in just 3mins


Plain English

Plain English

Digital natives (see the work of Marc Prensky) expect information in short, sharp bursts.  Even the digital immigrants amongst us appreciate brief, to the point briefings.  I came across this site, and thought I would incorporate some of its presentations in my learning materials.  It consists of a number of three minute videos, which introduce the basics of a topic.

The videos are produced by a company called ‘Custom Craft’, and their strength is that they come in “plain English”, using very simple animation techniques.  This is a young company, with just 30 videos at present – although they have had in excess of 10million hits.  Subjects include, Cloud Computing, Phishing Scams, Social Networking, Electing a US President, Investing Money and CFL Light Bulbs.  They also produce custom videos.  The videos may be purchased, or you can view them for free from their web site.

I have embedded their video on Blogs below.

Categories: Computing, Education, Internet
  1. Alix
    23/01/2010 at 9:34 am

    Thanks for this, I am always looking to break-up lectures with this kind of videos, but never know where to look for them (never sure about copyright issues either?).

    Anyway I don’t believe you have included the actual link (unless I can’t see it!), so here it is: http://www.commoncraft.com/

    And their YourTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/leelefever

    Cheers!

    • 23/01/2010 at 2:43 pm

      Alix – I am pleased you are reading it. I included this particular post as I also thought I could use the video links. At the moment I am deliberately not including external links in my blog (apart from the appeal for Haiti, but now I am well under way with regular posts and getting feedback I’ll review that decision.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

